The good and the bad

I bought this magazine back in August to take camping with me while at the county fair for a week.    It was a fun but full week and the magazine just laid on the camper table until I packed to come back home. While camping; Adam was recovering from surgery, I was nursing my sick little dog, 4H parade, fair activities and events, friends and family stopping by, Adam’s birthday, 2 doctor appointments and helping Lacey take care of her horse…no time to sit and read magazines.   But lately I have tried 2 recipes so far in this book.  I’m a big fan of Taste of Home and that’s sorta why I was so disappointed with the sweet bread.  I can usually count on their recipes being accurate and delicious!

Wasted ingredients and wasted time on this one….

http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/yummy-apricot-pecan-bread
I planned to have it for breakfast for a couple days with some fruit and freeze the second loaf for later.  It was so dry and had a very strange flavor.  And, I’m still not sure why it would have 8 oz cheddar cheese in it.  Both loaves went in the trash, so disappointing!

On to the good news….I finally made a great pumpkin roll using the recipe in this book!  There are so many recipes for this dessert but this one works, is super yummy and it’s a keeper!  I had one little pie pumpkin left and decided to make this dessert.


I only remember trying to make this recipe one other time years ago and it turned out bad.  I couldn’t get it rolled up and it was just a big mess.  It wasn’t fun and I never tried again, until now!  Plan ahead, it takes awhile to make and it still isn’t that fun in my opinion but it is delicious!   I love to bake but for some reason this recipe isn’t enjoyable….but the results are worth it!

http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/walnut-pumpkin-cake-roll

Leave a Reply

