feels like fall

Our driveway and porches are decorated with beautiful mums and pumpkins of all sizes from our garden.

The leaves are slowly changing colors.

Lacey’s horse is getting her winter coat.

We turned on the furnace a couple times due to the chilly nights.

The flannel sheets are now on our bed and I have a big crock pot of beef stew cooking.

It’s fall, for sure!

I used to watch Sandra Lee on the Food Network and subscribed to her magazine which I loved to get in the mail.  Back in 2009 I saved a beef stew recipe that we loved and I have been using it ever since.  It’s easy to throw together in the mornings, let it cook all day in the crock pot and its so delicious for dinner!  The rolls are almost done rising and I’m making some garlic butter now.  I love to use the crock pot, especially on fall and winter days.  It warms up my small kitchen and the house smells wonderful all day long.  I guess I’m sorta old fashioned….. but I like Adam to come home in the evenings after a long day at work and our home smells so good, with dinner waiting.  I love family dinners (uninterrupted time, just the 3 of us, sharing our day, no electronics, just us) and I could sit around the table all night talking and laughing if we didn’t have other things that we need to do.

Enjoy!

img_4773

Leave a Reply

