Apple Butter

Another fall favorite recipe that is fun to make is homemade apple butter!  There are so many recipes out there, you just have to find a good basic one and then tweak it to your tastes.

https://www.google.com/amp/www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/crock-pot-apple-butter-recipe-recipe.amp.html?client=safari
For this recipe, I reduced the sugar to 3 cups and use only 1 teaspoon of cinnamon.  I bought a jar at our county fair recently and it’s really good but has a lot of cinnamon in it.  It was cool to see them actually make it outside in the big copper kettle.  I wanted my batch to be more rich and not real sweet and cinnamon-y so I made the above changes.   I also use a mix of apples…Granny Smith, Red Delicious and Gala.




(This last photo is from the Internet, not mine.  My batch is still cooking at this time)

While peeling and cutting the apples, I was thinking about my sweet little dog that we lost last week.  No tears though, just fun memories!  She loved apples and always waited by my feet when I ate an apple.  She knew that she would get some leftover off the core when I was done.  She would go crazy over the sweet fruit!


This was our last day together and I’m so thankful that I took the time to snap this picture, cuddle and say our goodbyes.  She was 15 years old and super healthy until about 6 weeks ago.  She could still hike the mountains and go on 3 mile walks at her older age!


Hug your pets and have fun with them!  And share your apples 😊

Leave a Reply

