cereal

People have always used cereal as a breading but lately there seems to be a trend of using different kinds of cereal, other than corn flakes or rice krispies.  Even fairs and festivals are serving unique treats made with breakfast cereals.  Here’s a recipe from the Pioneer Woman that I tried recently using Captain Crunch!  She explains that the recipe originated from Planet Hollywood years ago.  It was fun to make and had a different taste that is hard to explain.  It doesn’t taste like the cereal….it’s not too sweet….it’s just hard to describe, but it was good.  We made it a very kid friendly meal with macaroni and cheese and green beans.

I’m not a big fan of frying food in oil so I decided to bake the chicken strips.  I read several reviews and people claimed they were just as tasty.  I’m sure my strips weren’t as crispy as frying them though.  I read a tip about mixing a little cornstarch with the flour to add crispiness but I completely forgot to add it.  I baked them at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes.                                       PW Captn Crunch Chicken

 

 

Leave a Reply

